About Us

EcoVision is the trading name of Energy Communities Tipperary Cooperative, a cooperative of communities, carrying out home insulation, energy efficiency upgrades in Tipperary. Our aim is to save energy, save money, create warm homes and generate jobs. Since 2012 our team has upgraded over 860 homes and 30 community and commercial buildings, generating a net investment into the region of over €10 million with energy savings of over 12GWh. The board of Energy Communities Tipperary Cooperative (ECTC) is made up of unpaid, volunteer directors from the 15 member communities as well as one each from North Tipperary Development Company (NTDC) and the Tipperary Energy Agency (TEA). Our board represents our current member communities of: Drombane/Upperchurch, Birdhill, Kilcommon/Rearcross/Hollyford, Lorrha/Rathcabbin, Cappamore, Terryglass, Kantoher, Burgess, Cratloe, Clonoulty Rossmore, Knockavilla Donaskeigh, Moycarkey-Borris-Littleton, Ballingarry (Thurles), Loughmore Castleiney and Cloughjordan. We are always interested in hearing from other communities, with a desire to get things done. A significant part of our success has been our project co-ordinator, Marcella Maher Keogh. Since 2012, Marcella has worked tirelessly to deliver our projects on time, and under budget.

From a LEADER-supported pilot scheme in Drombane/Upperchurch in rural Tipperary in 2012/2013, our nascent cooperative, ECTC, was formed in 2014, as 4 communities came together to carry out energy efficiency works on older houses and community buildings. ECTC was formally founded in 2015 and grew to include 15 communities.

EcoVision uses local based contractors and suppliers where possible, to maintain and increase new jobs in the local areas. All of our work is supported through SEAI under the Better Energy Communities scheme.