Energy Communities Tipperary Cooperative clg Profile

Energy Communities Tipperary Cooperative clg

Business Sector


About Us

We are a cooperative of communities, carrying out home insulation, energy efficiency upgrades in Tipperary. Our aim is to aim is to save energy, save money, create warm homes and generate jobs. Since 2012 our team has upgraded over 700 homes and 25 community buildings, generating a net investment into the region of almost €7 million. The board of Energy Communities Tipperary Cooperative (ECTC) is made up of unpaid, volunteer directors from the 8 participating communities as well as one each from North Tipperary LEADER Partnership (NTLP) and the Tipperary Energy Agency (TEA). Our board represents our current member communities of: Drombane, Upperchurch, Kilcommon/Rearcross, Birdhill, Lorrha/Rathcabbin, Burgess, and Terryglass. The following communities have previously worked closely with our team Cloughjordan, Carrig/Riverstown, Loughmore, Borrisokane. We are always interested in hearing from other communities, with a desire to get things done. A significant part of our success has been our project co-ordinator, Marcella Maher Keogh. Since 2012,  Marcella has worked tirelessly to deliver our project on time, and under budget. Claire Ryan of North Tipperary LEADER Partnership has provided financial oversight.

From a LEADER-supported pilot scheme in Drombane/Upperchurch in rural Tipperary in 2012/2013, our nascent cooperative, ECTC, was formed in 2014, as 4 communities came together to carry out energy efficiency works on older houses and community buildings. ECTC was formally founded in 2015 and grew to include 8 communities.

In 2015 and 2016, there were 261 houses and 8 community buildings upgraded, receiving a grant of €2m and generating 2.1GWh in energy savings. In 2017 ECTC maintained this level of work. ECTC uses local Limerick & Tipperary based contractors and suppliers where possible, to maintain and increase new jobs in the local areas. All of our work is supported through SEAI under the Better Energy Communities scheme.

Visit Us